Noise and Land Use Compatibility Study

This webpage is updated regularly as new information becomes available.

Naples Airport Authority is initiating a Part 150 Noise Study, a voluntary study to assess its noise compatibility planning. The Noise and Land Use Compatibility Update provides a structured approach for airport operators, pilots, neighboring communities, and the FAA to evaluate opportunities to address community concerns regarding noise exposure while preserving safety and operational capabilities of the airport. The last FAA-approved Part 150 Noise Study was completed more than 20 years ago (1997). An update was prepared in 2010, but it was not submitted to the FAA for approval since it would not have resulted in meaningful reductions in noise exposure.

This includes creating Noise Exposure Maps (NEMs) and a Noise Compatibility Program (NCP). The NEMs show community exposure to certain levels of existing and future noise and identify uses that are noncompatible with those levels. The NCP recommends ways to address or reduce those noncompatible uses while preserving aviation safety and airport operational abilities.

Technical Advisory Committee

As part of the NAA’s objective to include extensive public involvement, the NAA has formed a technical advisory committee for the two-and-a-half-year study that includes community volunteers representing the city and county. The role of the TAC is to provide technical input and feedback to the NAA relative to the Part 150 Noise Study.

 

TAC Presentations
To contact the representative for your area or for more information about the Technical Advisory Committee, please call Diane Terrill, Deputy Executive Director, at (239) 643-0733 or email dterrill@flynaples.com.

 

Technical Advisory Committee 2020 Meeting Schedule

  • January 30
  • April 23
  • November 5

 

TAC Members
Name Representing Area/Organization Email
Jamie Robinson Northeast Quadrant jrobinson@flynaples.com
Daniel O’Brien Northwest Quadrant dobrien@flynaples.com
David Norgard Southeast Quadrant dnorgard@flynaples.com
Craig Westbay Southwest Quadrant cwestbay@flynaples.com
Andy Reed County at Large areed@flynaples.com
Jerry Brown City at Large jbrown@flynaples.com
Phil Boyer Active Pilot pboyer@flynaples.com
Steve Kingston Active Pilot skingston@flynaples.com
Bruce Barone Fifth Avenue South Business Improvement District bbarone@flynaples.com
Michael Dalby Greater Naples Chamber of Commerce mdalby@flynaples.com
Danielle Hudson Naples Area Board of Realtors dhudson@flynaples.com
TAC Liaisons/Participants
Name Organization Email
Commissioner Donna M. Messer Naples Airport Authority Liaison dmesser@flynaples.com
Vice Mayor Gary Price Noise Compatibility Committee Liaison gprice@flynaples.com
Peter Green Federal Aviation Administration Liaison
Joe Molsen TRACON/RSW Liaison
Stacey Nichols Naples Air Traffic Control Tower Liaison
Robin Singer City of Naples Planning Department Liaison
Jamie French Collier County Growth Management Division Liaison
Executive Director Chris Rozansky Naples Airport Authority crozansky@flynaples.com
Authority Attorney William L. Owens, Esq.,
of Bond, Schoeneck & King, PLLC
Naples Airport Authority
Diane Terrill Naples Airport Authority dterrill@flynaples.com

Sign up for NAA email updates

We will add you to our list to receive updates about the Part 150 study and other important airport information. Scroll to the bottom of this page to sign up for emails.

What is a Part 150 Study?

The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) issued Title 14 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 150, Airport Noise Compatibility Planning, in January 1985. 14 CFR Part 150 provides airport operators with a formal process for addressing airport noise and noncompatible land uses. A “noncompatible land use” is a land use exposed to aircraft noise in excess of the thresholds established in 14 CFR Part 150. Part 150 studies are voluntary; typically prepared by airports interested in improving compatibility with local communities. Part 150 studies have two elements:

  1. Noise Exposure Map (NEM) Report – Shows existing and future aircraft sound exposure levels.
  2. Noise Compatibility Program (NCP) – Recommends measures to address aircraft noise. FAA-approved measures can be eligible for federal funding.
FAA logo

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)

Airport Noise Compatibility Planning (14 CFP Part 150)